News Detail

Club Notes 08/04/2024

St Lomans Mullingar Club Notes 08/04/2024:

ACFL Division 1:

St Lomans Mullingar 0-07 Coralstown Kinnegad 1-07

Storm Kathleen was in full force last Saturday evening when St Lomans Mullingar welcomed Coralstown Kinnegad to home instead Lakepoint Park in a repeat of last year’s championship final.

The gale force wind wasn’t much of an aid to either side as both teams traded a couple of scores each in the first twenty minutes with Shane Dempsey and Enda Gaffney on target for the blues. TJ Cox put the blues in front briefly with a long-range free but Dan Leech found the net at the other end for the visitors. In truth this goal had been coming, only for last ditch interventions from Goalkeeper Rory Matthews and full-back Darragh O’Keefe on previous occasions kept the home side in touch. Shane Dempsey doubled his tally on the stroke of half-time to leave the minimum between the sides.

Another Dempsey double from placed balls at the start of the half gave the Mullingar side a slender advantage but two points for Kinnegad in response had them regain the advantage. Shane Dempsey levelled proceedings with an excellent curled effort to leave the game firmly in the melting pot with five minutes remaining. The away side powered home in the final stages however with three unanswered scores. Paddy Dowdall’s men searched for a late goal and even hit the post in the dying seconds but ultimately Coralstown Kinnegad ran out as deserving winners.

Despite the defeat there were plenty of positive performances. Darragh O’Keefe and Oisín Hogan held the fort well in front of dependable shot-stopper Rory Matthews. Work-rate was never an issue with Lomans as the likes of TJ Cox, Kelvin Reilly and Rory Shehan put in tireless shifts. Next up for the Blues is Athlone away in two weeks’ time.

Team; Rory Matthews, Oisín Hogan, Darragh O’Keefe, Eoghan Hogan, Conor O’Donoghue, David Whelan, Peter Foy, Jack Geoghegan, Enda Gaffney (0.01), Eoghan O’Keefe, Sean Flanagan, Rory Sheahan, TJ Cox (0.01f), Shane Dempsey (0.05, 0.03f). Subs used; Nathan Lally, Chris Gilbert, Seanaí Bracken, Daniel McCann.

Ladies League Division 1:

St Lomans Mullingar 4-21 Mullingar Shamrocks 2-01

Last Sunday afternoon our senior ladies made it two wins from two after a comprehensive victory in Springfield. Both sides were short several players due to intercounty commitments so there two youthful line-ups on show. Katie Kilmurray found the net after three minutes and the blues never looked back and hit the next eleven points. Katie Kilmurray, Ciara Blundell, Aileen Martin, Shannon Breslin, Jayne Charles, Julie Mclaughlin and Annie Kilmurray all got their names on the scoresheet in the first half. Shamrocks sole score came from a Rachel Cheevers point from play.

Katie Kilmurray started the half with a double and Shannon Breslin also extended her tally before the home side were awarded a penalty. The penalty was well saved by Jane McKenna but unluckily for the goalkeeper the rebound was converted. Shannon Breslin responded with two super goals and a point from play. Mullingar Shamrocks found the net for a second time with ten minutes to play but the Saints continued to be ruthless with further scores from Katie Kilmurray and Ciara Blundell. Substitute Evie Kilmurray had the final word with a well-taken goal on her senior debut.

A super performance all round from Ciaran Kilmurray’s team with each player playing their part. Special mentions to Katie Kilmurray and Shannon Breslin who did most of the scoring damage.

Team; Jane McKenna, Sandra McGrath, Keelie Mulderry, Eve Scally, Ellen Kilmurray, Megan Ennis, Julie McLaughlin (0.01), Annie Kilmurray (0.01), Jayne Charles (0.03), Ciara Blundell (0.03), Katie Kilmurray (1.09, 0.02f), Aileen Martin (0.01), Shauna Traynor, Shannon Breslin (2.03), Paige Matthews. Subs used; Evie Kilmurray (1.00), Rachel McKenna, Aoibhe Hogan, Anna Sheehy, Chloe Cahill, Lauren McCormack, Cliona McGinley, Laura Murphy, Edel Sheerin

Under 15 Feile:

Congratulations to our U15 boys who won the Division 1 Feile title in Cusack Park yesterday with a brilliant display of attacking football.

Victories over Mullingar Shamrocks and Cill Oige in the earlier rounds earned the lads a place in the final where they faced neighbours The Downs. Our opponents had the advantage of a strong breeze in the opening period and deservedly led 1-2 to 0-1 at the break. Great defending from Cathal Flanagan, Jack Daly, Oisin Scally and Andy Sinnott kept us within striking distance.

Upon the restart, our lads showed incredible desire, workrate and hunger and MJ Long’s clever goal restored parity early in the half. Moments later Cian Matthews rifled the ball to the net to give us the lead and we dominated the half with further points from Tom Weir, Long, Matthews, Jack Connaughton and Cathal Kilmurray giving us victory on a scoreline of 2-8 to 1-2, securing our third county Feile title in succession.

Credit to the management team of Mark Breslin, Enda Matthews, Ray McDonnell and James Davitt who will bring the boys to represent Westmeath at the National Feile later in the summer.

Panel: Darragh Boyd, James McHugh, Cathal Flanagan, Andy Sinnott, Matthew Kenny, Jack Devine, Peter Raleigh, Jack Daly, Oisin Scally, Tom Weir, Shane Canning, Michael Brennan, Mark Gallagher, Jamie McDonnell, MJ Long, Cillian Breslin, Billy Lambden, Sean Maleady, Tony Brennan, Cathal Kilmurray, Cian Matthews, Jack Connaughton, Eli Greene, Luke Tully

ACFL Division 3:

St Lomans Mullingar 4-09 Multyfarnham 1-06

Well done to our division 3 side who got back on track with a superb win in Multyfarnham last week. Helped in no part by goals from Shane Mulderry, Cillian Plunkett, Shane Boyce and Paddy Dowdall.

ACFL Division 4:

St. Lomans Mullingar 0.08 St. Marys Rochfortbridge 2.16

St. Lomans 3rd side hosted St. Marys Rochfortbridge 2nd side in atrocious weather conditions last Thursday night. To put it quite simply, St. Marys adapted better to the weather conditions and thoroughly deserved their win.

Team; Adam O’Connor, Mark O’Gara, Ciaran Smyth, Jack Tyrrell, Riccardo Lingi, Fola Ayorinde (0-1), Tom Dorr, David Aughey (0-1), Nedas Bielicas, Shane Mulderry, Tadgh Kenny (0-2), Cillian Plunkett (0-2), Conor Cochrane (c), Danny McCann (0-2) & Byron Graham. Sub Used ; Thomas Meehan.

Club Lotto

Draw Date: Monday 1st April

This week’s jackpot: €2,200.00

Numbers drawn: 14,15,25,28

No Jackpot winner

Lucky dip winders (€50 each): Adrian Hogg and David Savage

Next week’s jackpot: €2,300.00

Next Week’s Draw Date: Monday 8th April

Remember it could be you!